Address: 580 E. Jackson Street, San Jose, CA 95112

(408) 294-2440

We understand and acknowledge that becoming Catholic isn’t just a one-time event that happens at a person’s Baptism. It is a whole lifetime of learning how to live in a way that reflects the message of Christ and the Scriptures and the teaching and tradition of the Catholic Church. In a sense, we are becoming Catholic every day because we are always striving to understand how Christ would have us respond to the daily events of our lives. Each day, through all the stages and circumstances of our lives, we try to deepen our faith and grow in our likeness of Christ.

The way we learn how to do this is through prayer: with other Catholics in a parish community, with our families at home, and by ourselves through daily practices of faith. Prayer teaches us our faith, strengthens our belief, and stirs us to live it in concrete ways every day. Prayer must always lead to action; the action we take—the way we live each day of our lives—is our spirituality. So whether you’re 7, 17, 47, or 97, a brand new Catholic or a life-long believer, we are always trying to grow deeper in our Catholic faith.

The seven sacraments (Sacramentum in latin)  are ceremonies that point to what is  sacred,  significant and important to Christians.

Please contact the office for help among the sacrament ceremony for your family at Holy Cross.

Click for more info in each of the Seven Sacraments:


For children up to the age of 6, the sacrament of baptism is celebrated on the first Saturday of each month at 10:00am.

Parents and Sponsors are required to attend a pre-baptism instruction class. At least one of the parents must be baptized catholic. 

Sponsors should be 16 years of age or older, they must have received all three sacraments of initiation and be practicing catholic. If they are a couple, they should be married with the Sacrament of Matrimony.

The first step is for parents to call the parish office and set up a meeting with a priest. They are asked to present the birth certificate of the child to be baptized. There is no cost or fee. A donation will be appreciated on the day of the sacrament.

Eucharist/ First Communion

Catholics believe the Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.


Confirmation is a Catholic Sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. It is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation for Catholics. It is most often associated with the gifts of the Holy Spirit.


The Catholic Sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as Penance, or Penance and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God’s unconditional forgiveness; as a result we are called to forgive others.


For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God’s values.

Engaged couples or couples with civil marriage only or just living together, who wish to enter into a commitment of love through the sacrament of matrimony, should contact a parish priest at least six months prior to the desired date.

Holy Orders

In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, or Ordination, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness.

Anointing of the Sick

The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites or Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness.